Tuesday, April 14, 2009

Rachel Draws Seahorses

Seahorse, white-board marker and magnet on white-board

Refusing to be sucked into the whole "making precious objects" racket, Rachel's preferred drawing media these days have been her white board and her "MagnaDoodle", neither of which produce a drawing which lasts more than a few minutes before it's obliterated and something new is created. Drawing for her is a completely joyful practice. Here are two of her most recent pieces.

Daddy Seahorse and Baby, white-board marker and magnets on white-board

I wish I drew like that.

Wednesday, April 01, 2009

"Makes A Lousy Gift", FIMP's book of the month

Subscribers to FIMP's Book of the Month club should receive "Makes A Lousy Gift" in their mailboxes today or tomorrow. In the tradition of FIMP's "Lousy Names for Boys" and "Lousy Names for Girls", "Makes A Lousy Gift" provides you with a short list of things to avoid when making one of those difficult important decisions.

Of course, something that would make a great gift is a subscription to the FIMP Book of the Month club.

A mere $25 gets you a bakers dozen of tiny books from the Fiji Island Mermaid Press, spread out over the next year plus a month or two. Now, in all honesty, the name should really be FIMP's 13 Books Over About A Year And A Half As Production Slowed Down A Bit When The Two Baby Girls Showed Up Club, but that's a little cumbersome.

I've been sending these books out since 2000, and the current count is 94, including this most recent book. I'm going to have to do something special when I reach 100 - maybe reprint the ones that have sold out and offer a complete set. Stay tuned, suggestions welcome!